Games I’m Thankful For

by – ‘Tiger’ Oliver

Seeing as National Turkey Genocide Day is in just a few short days, I’ve been thinking of things that I’m thankful for.

And, seeing as I’m an O’Colly Gamer, video games topped the list; edging out my closest friend, family, good drinks and the feeling you get when you tear a piece of paper out of a notebook perfectly along the perforated line. Oh, and when you eat at a Chinese buffet after not eating in 16 hours.

Anywho, I think it’s time to take a look at a few of among tens-to-hundreds of games I’m thankful for playing this year:

Conker: Live & Reloaded (XBox – Rated Mature)

By far the best looking Nintendo 64 game revamped for the original XBox. Trust me, the graphics are so amazing that you’ll think it’s an XBox 360 game, even given the fact that it only plays in 4:3 aspect ratio. A remastered game track, reconstructed multiplayer and the classic Bad Fur Day relatively untouched makes this game a definite play for platformer fans. Just don’t let the kiddies play this game, it ain’t rated M for nothing.

Saw (XBox 360, PlayStation 3 & Windows – Rated Mature)

I’m thankful for this game because it reminds me of how such a promising game can be so damn disappointing.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Saw as much as the next guy, but this game is horrible. It plays horrible, the graphics are horrible, the music’s horrible for the fact that it gets annoying as all get out after you listen to it for so long. It’s kind of like the movie, the storyline is the only thing that saves the game for me. But not enough to make me play it again.

Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past (Super Nintendo, Wii Virtual Console & Game Boy Advance)

After not having played this game for over eight years on a Super Nintendo, I’m reminded of the timelessness of such game series like the Zelda franchise. Very few games these days have that timelessness, and even fewer capitalize on it through a sequel.

Guitar Hero/Rock Band (Multiple Platforms)

Because, SRSLY, where else will you be able to fulfill your rock star fantasy without the risk of drug addiction and STD’s?

Trog! (NES & Arcade)

What can I say, it makes me nostalgic.

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed (All major consoles, handhelds, mobile phones, Mac OS & PC)

When a franchise releases one of the best games of that year and, quite possibly, of this generation, it’s no small matter. When that franchise is Star Wars, you know it’s a hell of a game.

Left 4 Dead (PC, XBox 360)

Hundreds upon thousands of zombies coming at you, a seemingly endless supply of ammunition, a gun toting maniac and a hot chick who knows how to multitask with annihilating the undead horde whilst looking innocently sexy – if Left 4 Dead 2 is any better than this, then I’ll have no problem selling off all my Rock Band controllers just to get my hand on it.

And last, but certainly not least:

Tetris (You name it, it probably has a port of it)

You can have all the legions of enemies breathing down your neck, the high-definition graphics, orchestrated soundtrack by the biggest names in music and awesome state-of-the-art technology made exclusively for your game. Tetris will still pwn you and have enough in its tank for another million rounds. The best thing to come out of Russia since vodka still has what it takes to this day.

Besides, who doesn’t remember how they felt the first time they cleared four lines at the same time?

What are some of the things your thankful for? Better yet, some of the games you’re thankful for playing, good or bad?

No Responses to “Games I’m Thankful For”

Leave a Reply

