R.I.P. – “Captain” Lou Albano

by: “Tiger” Oliver

I was originally going to review the Jean-Claude Van Damme Street Fighter movie as part of my October Film Fright Fest, but I have unfortunate news. We have lost an unsung hero in the video game world.

In my review of the Super Mario Bros. movie, I mentioned that an ex-professional wrestler named “Captain” Lou Albano portrayed Mario on The Super Mario Bros. Super Show! in the late ’80s to early ’90s.

Mr. Albano died earlier today at the age of 76.

The Super Mario Bros. Super Show! was THE reason I woke up in the morning as a young child, even when it was reduced to reruns three-to-four years after it was canceled. Even though I never got the chance to catch the Friday Legend of Zelda episode, there was just something special to seeing someone bringing Super Mario to real life.

The coolest thing about it is that, when I was researching the Captain, I found that he was an ex-WWE wrestler. Maybe that’s how Mario learned how to spin Bowser around like that in Super Mario 64?

Possibly even cooler than that, he shaved his beard on Live with Regis and Kathy Lee so he could even do the role.

Maybe he wasn’t the most active person in the video game history, but anyone who can pull off that linguine-munching walking stereotype has solidified their name in video game history in my book.

Adios, paisano. May you rest in peace in that big warp zone in the sky.

“Captain” Lou Albano: July 29, 1933 – Oct. 14, 2009.

2 Responses to “R.I.P. – “Captain” Lou Albano”

  1. He will be missed. 😦

  2. I will never forget how he made Cyndi Lauper by being in her Goonies R Good Enough music video.- Brock


Leave a Reply

